Delegate report: ALLA Conference 2016

The Australian Law Librarians’ Association Conference 2016 was held 24-26th August 2016 at the beautiful State Library of Victoria.

The State Library of Victoria
Eight lucky Western Australian delegates were in attendance. (You may have seen the lucky group over on our Twitter).

Events on Wednesday the 24th August included a tour of the Supreme Court of Victoria Library. As well as exploring the magnificent heritage-listed building, delegates were able to view historical items such as the court book that records the fate of Ned Kelly.

The first day of the conference program included the Welcome to Country that was conducted by a representative of the Wurundjeri Tribe Land & Compensation Cultural Heritage Council, offering an insight into the history of the Wurundjeri people.

Delegates were then privileged to have the Hon. Marilyn Louise Warren present the opening address.  Part of her presentation identified that “knowledge needs to be managed” paying respect to law librarians that have helped her throughout her legal career.

The cocktail function at the Old Melbourne Goal
On the evening of Thursday 25th of August, The Old Melbourne Gaol was a unique and intriguing venue for the cocktail function.  Those brave enough attended a ghost tour!

Further sessions held at the conference included managing your career, implementing a legal research program and a training perspectives panel.

A more in depth look at these sessions will be provided at the ALLA (WA) CPD Event: Conference Wrap-up presented by Mawghan Elverd, the recipient of the 2016 ALLA (WA) / Wolters Kluwer CCH Conference Bursary. This event is scheduled for 13th of October 2016. Keep an eye out for the invite and remember to RSVP as places are limited.

ALLA Conference 2018 will be held in Darwin, Northern Territory.

Mawghan Elverd / Luise Crisafulli (Conference delegates)

The Western Australian Delegates
Front L-R: Jennifer Moore (Edith Cowan University). Jaya Ralph (Curtin University). Anne Greenshields (University of Notre Dame), Trish Heggie (Consumer Protection, Department of Commerce), Judith Beach (Murdoch University).
Back L-R: Luise Crisafulli (Francis Burt Chambers), Amanda Saunders (Federal Court of Australia), Mawghan Elverd (Jackson McDonald)


Post a Comment